The day I accidentally bought a bunny (Day 39)

Having walked to the bus stop to deliver the books to the headmistress I couldn’t make it into the deaf school again today as I am yet to eat a proper meal.Going back to the hostel I slept for most of the morning before waking up feeling much better and a bit hungry, eager to go outside.
Taking a stroll along lakeside I came across the bunny rabbits that Callum and I had seen the night before and it was here that I accidentally purchased Pleb. As a joke to myself I muttered “100 rupees?” when walking past, the man quickly said yes and scooped up the bunny and placed it in my hands before I really knew what was happening! Handing over 100 rupees (about 70 pence!) I walked away a little dazed with a small white bunny in my hands. Sitting down in a small cafe I played with the bunny, and named him Pleb, for about 6 hours before realising that I should probably return the bunny before I left tomorrow morning for Kathmandu!

Reluctantly I walked back with Pleb and a lettuce for him and the other rabbits to share, and gave him back to the man I’d bought him from despite the protests from him that the bunny was now mine!


Feeling better than I had all week we went out for supper at the Jamaican Bar, where everything was so hot that Callum had tears in his eyes, before joining the other medics at Maya. After a fun evening playing card games and pool we headed back to our hostels and I quickly packed for my flight back to Kathmandu tomorrow!

The Wanderers X 

Leave a comment